Banking Holidays in Belgium 2016

The following is a list of public holidays in Belgium. On these days, shops, museums and attractions usually either close earlier or are closed for the entire day.

January 1, 2016, Friday – New Year’s Day
January 6, 2016, Wednesday – Epiphany (Not a public holiday)
March 28, 2016, Monday – Easter Monday (Monday after Easter Sunday)
May 1, 2016, Sunday – Labour Day
May 5, 2016, Thursday – Ascension Day (40 days after Easter)
May 8, 2016, Sunday – Mother’s Day (2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday.)
May 16, 2016, Monday – Whit Monday (7th Monday after Easter. Also Known as Pentecost Monday)
June 12, 2016, Sunday – Father’s Day (2nd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday.)
July 11, 2016, Monday – Celebration of the Golden Spurs (Flemish Community Day)
July 21, 2016, Thursday – Independence Day (National holiday)
August 15, 2016, Monday – Assumption Day (Assumption of Mary)
September 24, 2016, Saturday – French Community Holiday (observed only by the French Community)
November 1, 2016, Tuesday – All Saints Day
November 2, 2016, Wednesday – All Souls day (Not a public holiday)
November 11, 2016, Friday – Armistice Day
November 15, 2016, Tuesday – German Community Day (Day of the German-speaking Community of Belgium)
November 15, 2016, Tuesday – Kings Feast (Not a public holiday)
December 6, 2016, Tuesday – Saint Nicholas (Not a public holiday)
December 25, 2016, Sunday – Christmas Day

Schools, city councils, post offices and banks are closed the whole day on official public holidays.